1944 Radar Museum
D-Day and Battle of Normandy museums
The 1944 Radar Museum is installed on the historic site of the German radar station Distelfink, near the town of Douvres-la-Délivrande. Through a permanent exhibition in two refurbished bunkers, visitors can discover the history of the radar station since its creation by the Germans in 1943 until the liberation during the Battle of Normandy.
Originally, the land occupied by the two bearing points forming the German radar complex is gradually returned to the farmers after the fighting. But the museum was born thanks to the efforts of Raymond Laville, president of the Veterans of Douvres-la-Délivrande: the commune acquired three hectares of land in 1992. Two years later, shortly before the 50th anniversary of the landing, the Memorial Of Caen receives as donation a radar Würzburg-Riese which is finally installed on the site. On June 6, 1994, the museum was inaugurated. It is managed by the commune of Douvres-la-Délivrande since 2006.
– Car park near the museum.
– Places available for coaches.