D-Day and Battle of Normandy Encyclopedia
English version Spanish version

Band of Brothers – Episode 6 – Bastogne

Band of Brothers

Episode 6

The true story of the men of Easy Company, 506th PIR, 101st Airborne


Episode 1Episode 2Episode 3Episode 4Episode 5 – Episode 6 – Episode 7 – Episode 8 – Episode 9 – Episode 10

Episode: 06/10

Title: Bastogne

Director: David Leland

Eugene Roe

This episode presents the role of medics during the war. Thus, the viewer will follow throughout the episode Eugene Roe during the fighting of the Easy Company in the forest around Bastogne, in the Ardennes. The members of the E-Company suffered from the cold and the war and “doc” Eugene Roe ensured that these men hold the blow, both morally and physically.

The Easy Company was reinforced on 17 December 1944 in Bastogne in the Ardennes from their base at Mourmelon as the Germans of the 1st and 6th Panzer SS divisions had attacked and depressed the US defense line of the 4th and 28th divisions. ‘infantry. Upon their arrival at the entrance of the forest of Bastogne, the soldiers of the E-Company met the American wounded who were returning from the front. The Easy men lacked ammunition, were not dressed warmly, and risked running out of food. The support artillery of the 506 PIR was also missing ammunition until December 23 after supplies by aircraft that brought him the 75 mm Howitzer ammunition needed.

The Easy suffered greatly from the cold during the Battle of Bastogne and the constant fog prevented the US Air Force from parachuting food and ammunition, and when the weather was more mild, the drops were over Positions.

The men of the Easy Company had to defend the town of Bastogne and had for that reason regrouped in the Bois Jacques. There they dug their mouse holes and waited for the enemy who constantly bombarded their positions.

Easy losses at Bastogne

American National Archives show the official list of losses incurred by the Easy in Bastogne between 18 and 30 December 1944. The information is as follows:

Killed in action (KIA): 0

Seriously wounded in action (SWA): 1
(Caporal Gordon Walter S. Sr, du Mississippi, 13099280, SWA on December 24, 1944).

Lightly wounded in action (LWA): 3
(Caporal Gordon F. Carson, from New York, 12130792, LWA on December 21st, 1944,
Pvt Carl F. McCauley, from Indiana, 35808113, LWA on December 25, 1944,
Pfc Walter F. Eggert, from Illinois, 36614595, LWA on December 28, 1944).

The name of a man is missing from this report, that of PFC John Julian, 34806849, SWA on December 21, 1944. He was wounded during a combat patrol and left behind because of the German firepower. He is declared dead following wounds (DFW) on January 1st, 1945, the E-company still having no sign of life of John Julian. According to the divisional history of the 506th PIR, Pfc John Julian was killed and is now buried in Hamm in Luxembourg, in the same military cemetery where is buried the American general George S. Patton.

On Christmas Day, Lieutenant Harry Welsh was wounded by the explosion of a mortar shell and was quickly repatriated as a result of his wound.

For the other companies of 506th PIR:
A company suffered 11 KIA and 3 DFW, 7 missing in actions (MIA), 43 SWA and 13 LWA.
B company suffered 4 KIA, 1 DFW and 13 SWA.
C company lost 13 KIA, 3 DFW and 37 SWA.
D company lost 1 KIA, 1 DFW and 5 LWA.
F company lost 2 KIA, 1 DFW, 6 SWA and 9 LWA.
H company: 1 KIA, 3 DFW, 6 MIA and 37 LWA.
I company: 2 KIA, 2 DFW, 2 SWA and 12 LWA.

Renée and Augusta

In this episode of the series, one discovers characters like the nurses Renée LeMaire and Augusta Chiwi. These characters really existed; Renée LeMaire worked during the war in the 10th Armored Division in a field hospital located in Neufchateau street, some distance from the barracks where she was declared killed by a bomb dropped during a German air bombardment. The Congolese Augusta Chiwi also worked at a few blocks from the field hospital and survived the bombing.

The 101st Airborne Division received a presidential unit quote for his service at Bastogne. This division remained in place, did not retreat, and although encircled, it retained the Germans who carried out their last large attack, operation Nordwind.

 Previous episodeNext episode

News from Normandy

Wall of Remembrance

Wall of Remembrance

The Wall of Remembrance is a tribute to the veterans of the Battle of Normandy who have passed away

Media library

Media library

D-Day and Battle of Normandy media library: archives photos and videos

Follow D-Day Overlord on Facebook

Encyclopédie du débarquement et de la bataille de Normandie
English version Spanish version

Band of Brothers – Frères d’Armes – Episode 6

Band of Brothers – Frères d’Armes

Episode 6

La véritable histoire des hommes du 506 PIR, 101st Airborne, Easy Company


Episode 1Episode 2Episode 3Episode 4Episode 5Episode 6Episode 7Episode 8Episode 9Episode 10

Episode : 06/10

Titre : Bastogne

Réalisateur : David Leland

Eugene Roe

Cet épisode présente le rôle des infirmiers durant la guerre. Ainsi, le téléspectateur va suivre tout le long de l’épisode Eugene Roe durant les combats de la Easy Company dans la forêt autour de Bastogne, dans les Ardennes. Les membres de la E-Company souffraient du froid et de la guerre et le “toubib” Eugene Roe veillait à ce que ces hommes tiennent le coup, autant moralement que physiquement.

La Easy Company a été envoyée en renfort le 17 décembre 1944 à Bastogne dans les Ardennes depuis leur base de Mourmelon car les Allemands des 1ère et 6ème divisions Panzer SS avaient attaqué et enfoncé la ligne de défense américaine du secteur composée des 4ème et 28ème divisions d’infanterie. A leur arrivée à l’entrée de la forêt de Bastogne, les soldats de la E-Company rencontrèrent les blessés américains qui revenaient du front. Les hommes de la Easy manquaient de munitions, n’étaient pas habillés chaudement et risquaient de manquer de vivres. L’artillerie de soutien du 506 PIR manquait également de munitions jusqu’au 23 décembre après l’approvisionnement par avions qui lui apporta notamment les munitions de 75 mm Howitzer nécessaires.

La Easy a énormément souffert du froid pendant la bataille de Bastogne et le brouillard constant a empêché l’US Air Force d’effectuer des parachutages de vivres et de munitions et quand la météo était plus clémente, les largages s’effectuaient au-dessus des positions allemandes.

Les hommes de la Easy Company devaient défendre la ville de Bastogne et s’étaient pour cela regroupés dans le Bois Jacques. Il y ont creusé leurs trous de souris et ont attendu l’ennemi qui bombardait sans arrêt leurs positions.

Pertes de la Easy à Bastogne

Les “National Archives” américaines montrent la liste officielle des pertes accusées par la Easy à Bastogne, entre le 18 et le 30 décembre 1944. Les renseignements sont les suivants :

Tué en Action (TEA) : 0

Sérieusement Blessé en Action (SBA) : 1

(Caporal Gordon Walter S. Sr, du Mississippi, 13099280, SBA le 24 décembre 1944)

Légèrement Blessé en Action (LBA) : 3

(Caporal Gordon F. Carson, de l’état de New York, 12130792, LBA le 21 décembre 1944,
Pvt Carl F. McCauley, de l’Indiana, 35808113, LBA le 25 décembre 1944,
Pfc Walter F. Eggert, de l’Illinois, 36614595, LBA le 28 décembre 1944)

Le nom d’un homme manque à ce rapport, celui du Pfc John Julian, 34806849, SBA le 21 décembre 1944. Il avait été blessé durant une patrouille de combat et laissé sur place à cause de la trop forte puissance de feu allemande. Il est déclaré Mort à la Suite de ses Blessures (MSB) le 1er janvier 1945, la E-company n’ayant toujours aucun signe de vie de John Julian. Selon l’historique divisionnaire du 506, Pfc John Julian a bien été tué et il est aujourd’hui enterré à Hamm au Luxembourg, dans le même cimetière militaire où est enterré Le général américain George S. Patton .

Le jour de Noël, le Lieutenant Harry Welsh a été blessé par l’explosion d’un obus de mortier et a été rapidement rapatrié à la suite de sa blessure.

Dans la 506, la compagnie A a eu 11 soldats TEA plus 3 soldats MSB, 7 Disparus En Action (DEA), 43 SBA et 13 LBA. La compagnie B a perdu 4 soldat TEA, 1 MSB et 13 SBA tandis que le compagnie C a perdu 13 soldats TEA, 3 soldats MSB et 37 SBA. La compagnie D a perdu 1 soldat TEA, 1 MSB et 5 LBA. La compagnie F a perdu 2 soldats TEA, 1 MSB, 6 SBA et 9 LBA. Compagnie H : 1 TEA, 3 MSB, 6 DEA et 37 LBA. Compagnie I : 2 TEA, 2 MSB, 2 SBA et 12 LBA.

Renée et Augusta

Dans le film, on découvre des personnages comme les infirmières Renée LeMaire et Augusta Chiwi. Ces personnages ont réellement existé ; Renee LeMaire travaillait durant la guerre dans le 10th Armored Division dans un hôpital de campagne situé dans la rue de Neufchateau, à quelque distance du barraquement où elle a été déclarée tuée par une bombe larguée lors d’un bombardement aérien allemand. La congolaise Augusta Chiwi travaillait également à quelques blocs de l’hôpital de campagne et a survécu au bombardement.

La 101st Airborne division a reçu une citation d’unité présidentielle pour ses états de service à Bastogne. Cette division est restée sur place, n’a pas reculée, et bien qu’encerclée, elle a retenu les Allemands qui opéraient leur dernière attaque de grande envergure, l’opération Nordwind.

Episode précédantEpisode suivant

Actualités de la Normandie

George G. Klein – 2nd Ranger

George G. Klein – 2nd Ranger

Financez le retour de George G. Klein en Normandie aux prochaines commémorations ! Ce vétéran a escaladé la Pointe du Hoc le 6 juin 1944.

Mur du Souvenir

Mur du Souvenir

Le Mur du Souvenir est un espace de mémoire en hommage aux vétérans de la bataille de Normandie qui se sont éteints.

Médiathèque

Médiathèque

Médiathèque du débarquement et de la bataille de Normandie : photos et vidéos d'époque.

Suivez D-Day Overlord sur Facebook