49th (West Riding) Infantry Division

49th Infantry Division West Riding

Battle order – June 1944 – Battle of Normandy

Commander: Major General Sir Evelyn W. Barker

Combat and combat support units

49 Reconnaissance Regiment, RAC

70th Infantry Brigade: Brigadier Edward Cooke-Collis

– 10th Battalion Durham Light Infantry

– 11th Battalion Durham Light Infantry: Major John Hammer

– 1st Battalion Tyneside Scottish: Lieutenant-Colonel Robert de Winton

– 2nd Battalion Princess Louise’s Kensington Regiment


146th Infantry Brigade: Brigadier Andrew Dunlop, replaced by Brigadier John Walker on June 19th, 1944.

– 4th Battalion The Lincolnshire Regiment: Lieutenant-Colonel Peter Barclay

– 1/4th Battalion King’s Own Yorkshire Light Infantry: Major Edmund Wardleworth

– The Hallamshire Battalion The York and Lancaster Regiment: Lieutenant-Colonel Trevor Dyke


147th Infantry Brigade: Brigadier James Mahony

– 6th Battalion The Duke of Wellington’s Regiment : Lieutenant-Colonel Kenneth Exham

– 7th Battalion The Duke of Wellington’s Regiment : Lieutenant-Colonel John Wilsey

– 11th Battalion The Royal Scots Fusiliers : Lieutenant-Colonel Alexander Montgomery-Cuninghame, killed in action on July 3rd, 1944.

228, 229, 230, 294, 756, 757 Field Company, RE

231 & 289 Field Park Company, RE

23 Bridging Platoon, RE

49 Divisional Signals, RSC

69, 70, 71, 74, 79, 80, 143, 178, 185 Field Regiment, RA

55, 58, 88 Anti-Tank Regiment, RA

89, 118 Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RA

2nd Battalion, The Kensington Regiment (M.G.)

49 Royal army Service Corps ( R.A.S.C )


 Back to the British land forces in Normandy menu