7th Armoured Division

“The Desert Rats” 

7th (GB) Armoured Division

Battle order – June 1944 – Battle of Normandy

Commander: Major General George Watkin Eben James Erskine, replaced by Major-General Gerald Lloyd-Verney on August 4th, 1944

22nd Armoured Brigade: Brigadier W. R. N. Hinde
1st Royal Tank Regiment: Lieutenant-Colonel R. M. P. Carver
5th Royal Tank Regiment: Lieutenant-Colonel C. A. Holliman
4th County of London Yeomanry: Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur, The Viscount Cranleigh (prisoner on June 13th, 1944)
1st Battalion Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort’s Own)

131st (Queens) Brigade: Brigadier M. S. Ekins
1/5th The Queen’s Royal Regiment (West Surrey)
1/6th (Bermondsey) Battalion, The Queen’s Royal Regiment (West Surrey)
1/7th (Southwark) Battalion, The Queen’s Royal Regiment (West Surrey)
No. 3 Support Company, Royal Northumberland Fusiliers

Divisional Troops
8th Hussars
11th Hussars
Division Signals

Royal Artillery
3rd RHA
5th RHA
15th Light AA Regiment RA
65th Anti tank Regt. RA (Norfolk Yeomanry)

Divisional R.E.M.E. (Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers)
7th Armoured Troops Workshop
22nd Armoured Brigade Workshop
131st Brigade Workshop
15th Light AA Regiment Workshop

Royal Engineers
4th Field Squadron
621st Field Squadron
143rd Field Park Squadron

Divisional R.A.S.C (Royal Army Service Corps)
No. 58 Company
No. 67 Company
No. 507 Company

Divisional R.A.M.C. (Royal Army Medical Corps)
2nd Light Field Ambulance
131st Field Ambulance
29th Field Dressing Station
70th Field Hygiene Section
134th Mobile Dental Unit

Divisional R.A.O.C. (Royal Army Ordnance Corps)
Divisional Ordnance Field Park
22nd Armoured Brigade Ordnance Field Park
131st Brigade Ordnance Field Park

Royal Armoured Corps
No 263 Forward Delivery Squadron