D-Day and Battle of Normandy Encyclopedia
English version Spanish version

Cardonville in 1944 – Calvados – Battle of Normandy

Cardonville (Calvados)

The cities of Normandy during the 1944 battles

Liberation: June 8, 1944

Deployed units:

Drapeau américain 1st Air Force Clearing Station, 39th Field Hospital

Drapeau américain 115th Anti-Aircraft Gun Battalion

Drapeau américain 175th Infantry Division, 29th Infantry Division

Drapeau américain 368th Fighter Group, 71st Fighter Wing, 9th Fighter Command

Drapeau américain 370th Fighter Group, 71st Fighter Wing, 9th Fighter Command

Drapeau américain 747th Tank Battalion

Drapeau américain 816th Engineer Aviation Battalion

Drapeau nazi I/Grenadier-Regiment 914, 352. Infanterie-Division

Drapeau nazi Flak-Regiment 32, 17. Flak-Division

History:

In the spring of 1944, the Germans established a radar station on the lands of the village of Cardonville. It is defended by a fulcrum and by soldiers of the 1st Battalion of Grenadier-Regiment 914 (352. Infantry-Division).

On June 8, 1944, at dawn, the 175th Infantry Regiment (29th Infantry Division) commanded by Colonel Paul R. Goode progressed along National Highway 13 in a westerly direction, supported by tanks from C company of the 747th Tank Battalion. Colonel Goode ordered the 2nd battalion of Lieutenant-Colonel Millar G. Bowen to proceed in the direction of Cardonville, benefiting from the fire support of the light cruiser HMS Glasgow who made several shots on the village and its surroundings. The Americans seized the village and its base (consisting of positions for machine guns, mortars and 88 mm guns armed by the Flak-Regiment 32) despite the German resistance and then they resumed the advance towards Isigny-sur-Mer.

From June 10 to 14, 1944, the 816th Engineer Aviation Battalion built an aerodrome called ALG A-03 by the Allies on the lands of the commune of Cardonville, north-east of the village. Operational until September 1, 1944, this aerodrome is used in particular by the 36th and 370th Fighter Groups of the 9th United States Air Force.

From the 14th to the 25th of June, 1944, the village also welcomes the battery B of the 115th Anti-Aircraft Gun Battalion, which performs combat missions against air threats day and night. On June 23, the first Air Force Clearing Station (39th Field Hospital) was installed under the command of Captain Leslie C. Holshouser. This advanced medical center is located in the immediate vicinity of the ALG A-03 airfield and remains on site until September 10, 1944.

Cardonville maps:

Image : carte du secteur de Cardonville- Bataille de Normandie en 1944
 

News from Normandy

Wall of Remembrance

Wall of Remembrance

The Wall of Remembrance is a tribute to the veterans of the Battle of Normandy who have passed away

Media library

Media library

D-Day and Battle of Normandy media library: archives photos and videos

Follow D-Day Overlord on Facebook

Encyclopédie du débarquement et de la bataille de Normandie
English version Spanish version

Cardonville en 1944 – Calvados – Bataille de Normandie

Cardonville (Calvados)

Les villes de Normandie pendant les combats de 1944

Libération : 8 juin 1944

Unités engagées :

Drapeau américain 1st Air Force Clearing Station, 39th Field Hospital

Drapeau américain 115th Anti-Aircraft Gun Battalion

Drapeau américain 175th Infantry Division, 29th Infantry Division

Drapeau américain 368th Fighter Group, 71st Fighter Wing, 9th Fighter Command

Drapeau américain 370th Fighter Group, 71st Fighter Wing, 9th Fighter Command

Drapeau américain 747th Tank Battalion

Drapeau américain 816th Engineer Aviation Battalion

Drapeau nazi I/Grenadier-Regiment 914, 352. Infanterie-Division

Drapeau nazi Flak-Regiment 32, 17. Flak-Division 

Historique :

Au printemps 1944, les Allemands ont établi une station radar sur les terres du village de Cardonville. Elle est défendue par un point d’appui et par des soldats du 1er bataillon du Grenadier-Regiment 914 (352. Infanterie-Division).

Le 8 juin 1944 à l’aube, le 175th Infantry Regiment (29th Infantry Division) commandé par le colonel Paul R. Goode progresse le long de la route nationale 13 en direction de l’ouest, appuyé par des chars de l’escadron C du 747th Tank Battalion. Le colonel Goode ordonne au 2ème bataillon du lieutenant-colonel Millar G. Bowen de poursuivre en direction de Cardonville, bénéficiant de l’appui feu du croiseur léger HMS Glasgow qui effectue plusieurs tirs sur le village et ses abords. Les Américains s’emparent du village et de son point d’appui (composé de positions pour mitrailleuse, mortier et canon de 88 mm armés par le Flak-Regiment 32) malgré la résistance allemande puis ils reprennent la progression en direction d’Isigny-sur-Mer.

Du 10 au 14 juin 1944, le 816th Engineer Aviation Battalion construit sur les terres de la commune de Cardonville, au nord-est du village, un aérodrome baptisé ALG A-03 par les Alliés. Opérationnel jusqu’au 1er septembre 1944, cet aérodrome est notamment utilisé par les 368th et 370th Fighter Groups de la 9th United States Air Force.

Le village accueille également du 14 au 25 juin 1944 la batterie B du 115th Anti-Aircraft Gun Battalion qui assure des missions de lutte contre les menaces aériennes, de jour comme de nuit. Le 23 juin débute l’installation de la 1st Air Force Clearing Station (39th Field Hospital) aux ordres du capitaine Leslie C. Holshouser. Ce centre médical avancé est installé à proximité immédiate de l’aérodrome ALG A-03 et reste sur place jusqu’au 10 septembre 1944.

Photos de Cardonville en 1944

Cartes de Cardonville :

Image : carte du secteur de Cardonville- Bataille de Normandie en 1944
DDay-Overlord.com – Reproduction partielle ou totale interdite – Contact Webmaster

Actualités de la Normandie

George G. Klein – 2nd Ranger

George G. Klein – 2nd Ranger

Financez le retour de George G. Klein en Normandie aux prochaines commémorations ! Ce vétéran a escaladé la Pointe du Hoc le 6 juin 1944.

Mur du Souvenir

Mur du Souvenir

Le Mur du Souvenir est un espace de mémoire en hommage aux vétérans de la bataille de Normandie qui se sont éteints.

Médiathèque

Médiathèque

Médiathèque du débarquement et de la bataille de Normandie : photos et vidéos d'époque.

Suivez D-Day Overlord sur Facebook