3rd (CA) Infantry Division – Battle order – 1944

3rd Canadian Infantry Division

3rd Canadian Infantry Division

Battle order – June 1944 – Battle of Normandy

History of the 3rd Canadian Infantry Division

Commander: Major General Rodney Keller

HQ 3rd Canadian I.D.

7th Canadian Reconnaissance Regiment (17th Duke of York’s Royal Canadian Hussars): lieutenant-colonel T. C. Lewis

7th Canadian Infantry Brigade: Brigadier H. W. Foster

The Royal Winnipeg Rifles: lieutenant-colonel John M. Meldram
– A company: Major F. E. Hodge, prisoner of war on June 8th, 1944
– B company: Captain P. E. Gower
– C company: Major J. M. D. Jones
– D company: Major Lochie R. Fulton

The Regina Rifles Regiment: lieutenant-colonel F. M. Matheson
– A company: Major Duncan Grosch, killed on June 6th, 1944, replaced by Captain Ron Shawcross
– B company: Major Francis L. Peters, killed on June 6th, 1944 at Fontaine-Henry
2IC: Lieutenant Glen D. Dickin, killed on June 6th, 1944 at Fontaine-Henry
– C company: Major C. S. T. Tubb
– D company: Major John V. Love, tué le 6 juin, replaced by Lieutenant H. L. Jones

1st Battalion Canadian Scottish Regiment: lieutenant-colonel F. N. Cabeldu
– A company: Major Plows
– B company: Major R. M. Lendrum
– C company: Major D. G. Crofton
– D company: Major G. T. MacEwan

8th Canadian Infantry Brigade: Brigadier K. G. Blackader

The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada: lieutenant-colonel J. G. Spragge
– A company: Major Hume Elliot Dalton, wounded on June 11th, 1944.
– B company: Major Charles O. Dalton, wounded on June 8th, 1944 at Bernières-sur-Mer.
– C company: Major Nickson
– D company: Major Gordon

The North Shore Regiment: lieutenant-colonel D. B. Buell
– A company: Major John A. MacNaughton, killed on June 6th, 1944 at Tailleville.
– B company: Major R. B. Forbes
– C company: Major Daughney
2IC: Captain Le Blanc
– D company: Major J. E. Anderson
– Carrier company: Captain J. A. Currie
– Support company: Captain C. C. Gammon

Régiment de la Chaudière: lieutenant-colonel J. E. G. Paul Mathieu
– A company: Major Hugues Lapointe
– B company: Major J. F. L’Espérance
– C company: Major Georges Sevigny
– D company: Major Gustave Taschereau

9th Canadian Infantry Brigade
: Brigadier D. G. Cunningham

The Highland Light Infantry of Canada: lieutenant-colonel F. M. Griffiths
– HQ company: Major F. A. Sparks
– A company: Major D. Durnward
– B company: Captain V. Stark
– C company: Major R. Hodgins
– D company: Major H. Anderson

The Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry Highlanders: lieutenant-colonel G. H. Christiansen
– A company: Major F. L. Fisher
– B company: Major Gemmel
– C company: Captain Milligan

The North Nova Scotia Highlanders : lieutenant-colonel Charles Petch
– A company: Major Léon Rhodenizer
– B company: Major A. J. Wilson
– C company: Major Don Learment
– D company: Major Matson, killed on July 25th, 1944, replaced by Captain Nicholson, killed on July 25th, 1944

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa: lieutenant-colonel P. C. Klaehn
– A company (MG): Major J. W. H. Rowley
– B company (MG): Major Carson
– C company (MG): Major C. C. Hill
– D company (mortiers): Major R. M. Ross

2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade: Brigadier R. A. Wyman

6th Canadian Armoured Regiment (1st Hussard): lieutenant-colonel R. J. Colwell
– HQ squadron: Major K. M. Harding
– A squadron: Major W. Dudley Brooks
– B squadron: Major J. S. Duncan, replaced by Captain R. H. Harrison on June 10th, 1944
– C squadron: Major A. D. A. Marks
Second in command: Captain R. H. Harrison (until June 10th, 1944)

10th Canadian Armoured Regiment (The Fort Garry Horse): lieutenant-colonel R. E. A. Morton
– A squadron: Major H. C. Blanshard, wounded on July 4th, 1944
– B squadron: Major J. A. Meindl, wounded on June 6th, 1944
– C squadron: Major W. Bray, wounded on July 5th, 1944

27th Canadian Armoured Regiment (The Sherbrooke Regiment): lieutenant-colonel M. B. K. Gordon
– HQ squadron: Major F. H. Baldwin
– A squadron: Major E. W. L. Arnold
– B squadron: Major G. S. Mahon
– C squadron: Major V. O. Walsh


Royal Canadian Artillery (RCA): Brigadier P. A. S. Todd

12th Canadian Field Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel Webb
– 11th battery: Major D. M. Wilson
– 16th battery: Major J. D. Ross
– 43rd battery: Major A. G. Goldin

13th Canadian Field Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel F. de P. T. Clifford
– 22nd battery: Major J. D. Baird
– 44th battery: Major J. D. Young
– 78th battery: Major J. W. Bennett

14th Canadian Field Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel H. S. Griffin
– 36th battery: Major A. W. Duguid
– 66th battery: Major J. F. Kibler
– 81st battery: Major G. E. Purcell

19th Canadian Field Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel R. G. Clarke
– 55th battery: Major R. H. Mewburn
– 63rd battery: Major R. S. Stronach
– 99th battery: Major R. S. Hetherington

12th Canadian LAD (type D): Captain D. C. Little

3rd Anti-Tank Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel J. P. Phin
– 4th Anti-Tank battery: Major MacDonald
– 52nd Anti-Tank battery: Major Rose
– 94th Anti-Tank battery: Major Scott
– 103rd Anti-Tank battery: Major Love

62nd Anti-Tank Regiment, RA: lieutenant-colonel R. B. W. Bethell
– 245th Anti-Tank battery (M10 SP)
– 246th Anti-Tank battery: Major A. G. St G. Pollock
– 246th Anti-Tank battery
– 246th Anti-Tank battery (M10 SP)

80th Anti-Aircraft Brigade, RA: Brigadier H. W. Deacon

4th Canadian Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment RCA: lieutenant-colonel C. E. Woodrow
– 73rd Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RA: lieutenant-colonel J. A. Armstrong
– 93rd Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RA: lieutenant-colonel Holman
– 114th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RA: lieutenant-colonel N. W. Hoare

474th Searchlight battery


Royal Canadian Engineer: lieutenant-colonel R. S. Cassidy
5th Canadian Field Company RCE: Major F. A. McTavish
6th Canadian Field Company RCE: Major T. R. Murphy
16th Canadian Field Company RCE: Major V. C. Hamilton, wounded on June 6th, 1944, replaced by Major D. W. Cunnington
18th Canadian Field Company RCE: Major C. E. Brown
3rd Canadian Field Park Company RCE: Major H. L. Main


Royal Engineer
72nd Field Company RE
85th Field Company RE: Major James H. MacLeod
262nd Field Company RE: Major Charles B. Stone

26th Assault Squadron RE: Major A. E. Younger
80th Assault Squadron RE: Major Wiltshire
– 1st Troop: lieutenant John H. Saunders
– 2nd Troop: lieutenant Allan A. Oxtoby
– 3rd Troop: Captain Cecil F. Tracy
– 4th Troop: Captain Mare

102nd Beach Sub-Area: Brigadier N. B. Brading
8th Battalion, Kings Regiment
5th Battalion, Royal Berkshire Regiment


4th Special Service Brigade: Brigadier Bernard W. Leicester

No. 48 (Royal Marine) Commando: lieutenant-colonel James C. Moulton
– A Troop: Captain Mike Reynolds
– B Troop: Captain Jim L. Perry, killed on June 6th, 1944
– S Troop: Captain Geoff Linnell
– X Troop: Captain W. F. Hoare
– Y Troop: Captain Derick R. De Stacpoole
– Z Troop: Captain Fred C. L. Lennard, killed on June 6th, 1944

Royal Canadian Medical Corps
– 14th Field Ambulance RCAMC: lieutenant-colonel M. R. Caverhill
– 22nd Field Ambulance RCAMC
– 23rd Field Ambulance RCAMC: lieutenant-colonel Loree


DDay-Overlord.com – Reproduction subject to authorization of the author – Contact